ISGANs ExCo meeting to boost smart grid begins in Gurugram

New Delhi, Mar 6 (PTI) The 13th Executive Committee meeting of ISGAN began today at Gurugram, which will eventually boost deployment of smarter electric grid technologies, practices and systems.

"The Ministry of Power India is hosting the 13th Executive Committee (ExCo) Meeting of the International Smart Grid Action Network (ISGAN) at POWERGRID Corporate Center, Gurugram," the ministry said in a statement.

According to the statement, this is the first ever Executive Committee Meeting of ISGAN being held in India and will have multiple sessions on March 6, 7 and 9.

The meeting was inaugurated by ISGAN Presidium Chair Michele de Nigris, Power Grid CMD I S Jha, and Dr Arun Kumar Verma, Joint Secretary (Distribution), Power Ministry.

In the inaugural session, Verma shared Indias training modules on Smart Grids and Model Smart Grid Regulations for guidance of the ISGAN Community.

Smart Grid implementation in India will get a boost from deliverables obtained through decisions and actions taken in 13th ISGAN ExCo Meeting as ISGAN aims to improve the understanding of smart grid technologies, practices and promote adoption of related enabling government policies.

The knowledge sharing, technical assistance and project coordination and periodic ISGAN reports on progress and projects being undertaken in the field of Smart Grid across the world would also be helpful in suitable deployment of Smart Grid technologies in India.

ISGAN is an agreement under International Energy Agency (IEA) and consists of representatives from 25 countries across the globe. India is one of the founding Member of ISGAN and Joint Secretary (Distribution), Ministry of Power, is the member representative of India.

ISGAN creates a mechanism for multilateral government-to-government collaboration to advance the development and deployment of smarter electric grid technologies, practices and systems.

A total of 36 representatives from 18 countries namely Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, Norway, Russia, South Africa, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, US and UAE are participating in this event.

Source :

Smart Grid Bulletin February 2019

View all SMART GRID Bulletins click here